Yes, you can lose your North Carolina driver’s license if you get a speeding ticket. If you have to go to traffic court in western North Carolina because you were caught speeding or were cited for some other traffic law violation, you really will have three options: (1) admit guilt and pay the fine; (2) fight the ticket in court; or (3) negotiate with the assistant district attorney and plead down to a reduced speed violation or, if possible, to a non-moving violation. The experienced lawyers at Cannon Law, P.C., will help you make the best decision for your case.
What is the best approach?
Each approach has its advantages, but every case is unique and requires individual attention and analysis. When making your decision you should be aware that a conviction – by admission, trial or plea – can have a negative impact on your driving privilege. In some instances, the impact might just be getting points added to your license and driving record. However, for some speeding violations, the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles may suspend your driver’s license. If it does you might have the option to request a provisional license that would let you drive for only limited purposes, such as for going to work.
Speeding Violations for which You can Lose Your License.
Here is a partial list of the speed-related violations and offenses for which you can lose your driver’s license:
- If you have two or more charges of driving over 55 mph but not more than 80 mph within 12 months.
- If you have one or more charges of reckless driving and one or more charges of driving over 55 mph but not more than 80 mph within 12 months.
- If you have one or more charges of aggressive driving and one or more charges of driving over 55 mph but not more than 80 mph within 12 months.
- If you drive over 75 mph on a public road or highway where the speed limit is less than 70 mph.
- If you drive over 80 mph on a public highway where the speed limit is 70 mph.
- If you were convicted of any of these things in another state. All the states share their information with each other about who has been cited for speeding. For instance, if you get a speeding ticket in Tennessee for going 78 mph in a 70 mph zone and are convicted of that (such as by admitting guilt and paying your ticket), the conviction would be grounds for suspension or revocation of your license in North Carolina, and Tennessee will notify North Carolina of the conviction.
- If you get 12 or more points on your driver’s license within a three-year period, or eight or more points in the three-year period immediately following the reinstatement of your license if it had been suspended or revoked because of a conviction for a traffic offenses.
What Should You Do?
If you get caught speeding, contact Michael (Mike) McConnell at Cannon Law, P.C., for prompt, professional advice about your rights in traffic court in Haywood, Jackson, Swain, Macon and Buncombe counties. Also, slow down and make cruise control your friend.